A Sweet Contest


Hey it’s Beso.com’s Bake Up Summer Sweets Contest. A contest where the winner will receive a KitchenAid Mixer!

a:visited._splink {text-decoration: none; color: white;}}

sponsored like
GregoryRMiller’s profile on MyLikes

Okay, here’s a comment on something else that I posted a short while ago on twitter:

For anyone wanting to find the actual tweet (it’s not re-printed here) you can view my twitter page at http://www.twitter.com/gregoryrmiller.

“Beso.com’s Bake Up Summer Sweets Contest. Beso.com is running a contest
where the winner will receive a KitchenAid Mixer. To enter the contest, simply
share your favorite summer sweets recipe.”


That’s not including the little “#ad” hashtag that ‘discloses’ that the twittered conversation is indeed a commercially sponsored advertisement, and that disclosure has a reason for being there!

Just like the second little ‘hashtag’ that marks the advertiser “#beso”, letting the folks at Beso keep their tabs on the volume of ads that circulate around the twitterverse, measurable at any given moment.

Pretty cool when I think about it.

I believe in people’s chances to “earn” their wins in life. Regardless of the high quality of entries, someone is going to come out on top with the contest.

I was also putting my two cents in literally. I do not “ask” anyone to click through the neatly little shortened URL that goes in the “#ad” tweet.

(That behavior is also expressly forbidden, according to the Terms of Service of the commercial advertising agency.)

I am however, potentially eligible for compensation for promoting the contest on my twitter account. Also pretty cool when I think about it.

Why oh why do I go so far as to write the “#ad”, is it for the money? Altruism may be a personal weakness. I won’t judge myself either way.

The synchronicity of getting a potential “#ad” write-up, while my better half is in our kitchen using a KitchenAid mixer is too much of a coincidence for me to pass up.

Yes, my dear was happily dulling out all of the other background noise in the house with a dough-hook set on “hurricane speed”, courtesy of KitchenAid and the electric company.

She actually happened by her computer, saw the “tweet” (excuse me, the “#ad”) and not only clicked through, but forwarded the aforementioned contest details to our daughter.

Our daughter has a knack for obtaining and creating some awfully good recipes. I hope she enters the contest. I guess most would say “I hope she wins the contest”, in my conviction I am firm, entering the contest would be enough.

She also occasionally writes pet recipes for a feature on our websites. Her mother is a local columnist who writes about food and of course features recipes prominently in her work.

Her Dad happens to be a writer, doting on cheap budget events (Yes, it suits me.) I do not get to publish my column as much as I would like to and it irritates me, but that is another story.

Her Dad hopes that she enters the contest with her flair and love of recipe and food competitiveness which she has plenty of. What she doesn’t have plenty of is KitchenAid Mixers, and Her Dad is cheap.

In the spirit of competition, my daughter will hope for the best when she enters the contest. Hopefully so will a few dozen or so other people.

I look at the possibility of someone other than my daughter having the chance to win a KitchenAid mixer as a result of my “#ad” tweet as nothing short of a small miracle of modern technology.

Twenty years ago, such promotions would be carried on as they have been, in ladies’ home-making magazines. I would have to make a note of the contest, if I were reading the ladies’ magazine, and then telephone or write a postcard or a letter to my daughter or anyone else I thought had enough panache to win the contest.

Today her mother sees the seemingly anonymous tweet (because she follows me on twitter) and nearly instantly zaps the information, hyperlinks and all, into the ether of cyberspace.
No telephone call, no postcard or letter, no stamps, envelope glue taste, or extra tidbits about the goings on of the day.

Maybe I’m missing something here. The cheap part of me should be thrilled.

Somewhere, in my fondest hopes, a beleaguered housewife who has been managing with cheap detachable mixing beaters (not the Sears beaters) will win the wondrous KitchenAid Mixer.

She will have won the KitchenAid mixer because a friend of a friend of a friend saw my tweet and it popped up on her screen, inspiring her to write “War and Piece of Sweet Summer Heaven“.

It will not miraculously end her life of unappreciated toil and suffering. If anything it will create more suffering when it is set on “hurricane speed” at a time inconvenient to the other members of her household.

I will take solace in this fantasy. I will also luckily be taking solace in some very well thought out homemade bread because of the KitchenAid Mixer and my wondrous little food columnist.

I have the opportunity to write about things I love to do, want to do, and enjoy doing. When I tweet out an “#ad” or write a blog that somewhere along the inevitable lines of eternal legal disclosure says “Sponsored”, I am trying my best to offer those opportunities to the thousands of wonderful people who actually read what I have to say.

I won’t advertise bunk, and I choose to advertise things deliberately because when I do collect any money from all of the work that goes into something as “boring” as writing, it goes to support several non-governmental, non-profit organizations which I either actively participate with or have created structured and supported myself from their beginnings.

I win either way, what A Sweet Contest!

My apologies to my friend, Mr. John Anthony West, for my violations of some of the constructive and grammatical rules of the English language, I am sure they are hiding somewhere.
I’m sure they are fragmented, Mr. Richard C. Hoagland can prove it warrants further investigation and it’s a conspiracy for sure.

Gregory R. Miller
E.D. of the Exogeny Center

Exogeny Network

Exogeny Network _qoptions={qacct:”p-e4XY39vJCwU9A”};

Leave a Reply

